Workers' Compensation Section
News from the Section
The Duty to Develop the Record
February 5, 2016,12 noon - 1 p.m.
This program offers 1 hour participatory MCLE credit and 1 hour legal specialization credit in Workers' Compensation Law. You must register in advance to participate.
All too often a litigator can find himself after trial or reconsideration facing three dreaded words: develop the record. Developing the record can be a discovery issue where the evidence is insufficient. In other cases it can be the failure to spot a necessary issue, for which no evidence is presented. Either way, the litigator need not despair. Two imminently experienced litigators will detail each party’s duty to properly develop the record before submitting the case to trial including tips and tricks using real life examples.
Speakers: Jack Goodchild and Ralph Malmquist.
Nominations Are Open for the Steve Jimenez Memorial Special Recognition Awards
Deadline: February 29, 2016
We're currently seeking your nominations for the Steve Jimenez Memorial Special Recognition Awards.
Nominations are sought in five categories:
- Lifetime Achievement Award
- Judge of the Year
- Defense Attorney of the Year
- Applicant Attorney of the Year
- Young Attorney of the Year
The nomination form is now posted. For information about past recipients, see Steve Jimenez Memorial Special Recognition Awards.
2016 Spring Education Conference
Saturday, March 12, 2016
JW Marriott Los Angeles
900 W. Olympic Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90015
Saturday, April 23, 2016
Hilton Oakland Airport
One Hegenberger Road
Oakland, CA 94621
Saturday, June 4, 2016
The Cliffs Resort
2757 Shell Beach Rd
Pismo Beach, CA
Program Schedule | Essential Information | Printable Brochure | Mail/Fax Reg. Form
Earn 6 hours of participatory MCLE credit, including 1 hour in Legal Ethics, and 6 hours legal specialization credits in Workers' Compensation Law! Read more.
MEMBERS ONLY: List of CLE webinars and Substantive Law Articles Available FREE on State Bar Website
As a benefit of Section membership, the state bar is pleased to offer six hours of MCLE credit, offering credit in all of the MCLE subfields, Elimination of Bias in the Legal Profession, Detection and Prevention of Substance Abuse and Emotional Distress and Legal Ethics. Just keep a record of having watched them, in the event you're audited for MCLE compliance.
State Bar Workers’ Comp Section members may also use this link to access a plethora of our most popular articles from our publications.
See Online CLE and click on Workers' Compensation to find out how you can get online participatory MCLE credit for Workers' Compensation programs at your convenience. Choose from a wide selection of State Bar of California MCLE programs at both modem and broadband connection speeds. For information about other options for CLE credit, see Education .
Save Money with CEB
Continuing Education of the Bar, California (CEB) is extending some special discount offers to our section. As a member of the Workers' Compensation Section, you're eligible for:
- 10% off selected CEB print or online books
- A rebate on your section dues that can be applied to the cost of a CEB Gold CLE Passport or a CLE program ticket
A complete list of the products eligible for a discount is available on a CEB web page accessible through our Members Only Area . Information about the section dues rebate program can be found on the CEB Web site .
Workers' Compensation Section
The State Bar of California
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105-1639