Workers' Compensation Section
News from the Section
Legal Specialization Boot Camp 2017
Saturday & Sunday, June 10-11, 2017
350 Calle Principal
Monterey, California 93940
Earn 9 hours MCLE & legal specialization credit
REGISTER ONLINE HERE
The registration deadline is Monday, June 5.
Program Schedule | Essential Info | Printable Brochure | Mail/Fax Reg. Form
Click here to get all the details, including speakers and registration info!
Nominations Sought for the 2017 State Jimenez Memorial Special Recognition Awards
Deadline: February 28, 2017
There are five separate award categories.
Attorney Nominations: Knowledge of the law, professional courtesy, community service, professionalism, recent contributions to the practice of workers’ compensation, service to client, and advocacy skills.
Judicial Nominations: Knowledge of the law, temperament, courtesy, timeliness of decisions, judicial integrity, clarity of decisions, community service, professionalism, contribution to the practice of workers’ compensation, and availability to the parties.
Lifetime Achievement Nominationas: Knowledge of the law, community service, professionalism, and significant lifetime contributions to the practice of workers’ compensation.
Young WC Lawyer: For the Young Lawyer award, please limit your nomination to a lawyer who has been in practice for five years of less, or who is 35 years of age or younger.
Submit your nominations on the 2017 Nomination Form.
Face to Face with the QMEs by Robert Rassp
© Copyright 2017 LexisNexis. All rights reserved. Reprinted with permission. This article originally appeared in the LexisNexis Workers’ Compensation eNewsletter – California Edition, a free service, www.lexisnexis.com/wcnews.
In early 2017, a PQME referral company hosted a continuing medical education (CME) program for its panel QME physicians in the Southern California area. The first three hours of the six hour program featured an applicant’s attorney, a defense attorney, and a workers’ compensation judge who separately presented a curriculum to over 100 doctors in various specialties that included topics that were requested by the company’s administration. The teaching points focused on how to write medical reports that constitute substantial medical evidence and which conclusions are based on reasonable medical probability. The topics included the definition and examples of cumulative trauma injuries, causation of injury, causation of permanent disability, WPI ratings, and apportionment. Plenty of real life examples were given. Read more.
MEMBERS ONLY: List of CLE webinars and Substantive Law Articles Available FREE on State Bar Website
As a benefit of Section membership, the state bar is pleased to offer six hours of MCLE credit, offering credit in all of the MCLE subfields, Elimination of Bias in the Legal Profession, Detection and Prevention of Substance Abuse and Emotional Distress and Legal Ethics. Just watch these programs found at the link below, and keep a record of having done so, in the event you're audited for MCLE compliance.
State Bar Workers’ Comp Section members may also use this link to access a plethora of our most popular articles from our publications.
Thank You for Being a Section Member - Here's 6 Hours MCLE in Legal Ethics!
We're very grateful for your membership in the Section. As a token of that, we're offering six hours of self-study MCLE credit in the area of Legal Ethics. The programs are posted in our Member's Only Area.
Simply watch the programs and read the accompanying materials, and keep track of having done so. You can report this to the State Bar when it's time to demonstrate your compliance with the MCLE requirements.
See Online CLE and click on Workers' Compensation to find out how you can get online participatory MCLE credit for Workers' Compensation programs at your convenience. Choose from a wide selection of State Bar of California MCLE programs at both modem and broadband connection speeds. For information about other options for CLE credit, see Education .
Save Money with CEB
Continuing Education of the Bar, California (CEB) is extending some special discount offers to our section. As a member of the Workers' Compensation Section, you're eligible for:
- 10% off selected CEB print or online books
- A rebate on your section dues that can be applied to the cost of a CEB Gold CLE Passport or a CLE program ticket
A complete list of the products eligible for a discount is available on a CEB web page accessible through our Members Only Area . Information about the section dues rebate program can be found on the CEB Web site .
Workers' Compensation Section
The State Bar of California
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105-1639